Greatest Stories of the Bible on television this month

 

                     

For two weeks in April, television audiences will be treated to an unprecedented collection of inspirational movies and mini-series when UP presents “The Greatest Stories of The Bible” in honor of the Easter season.  Starting on Monday, April 7 and continuing through Easter, Sunday, April 20, UP will air 21 classic stories from the New and Old Testaments plus one all-new UP Original Movie during prime time, totaling more than 123 hours of programming. The list UP’s The Greatest Stories of The Bible” includes:

 

Peter and Paul Peter and Paul assume leadership of the Church as they struggle against violent opposition to the teachings of Christ and their own personal conflicts. (1981) Stars: Anthony Hopkins, Robert Foxworth, Eddie Albert, Raymond Burr, Jose Ferrer. Monday, April 7, 8 p.m. EDT/ 5 p.m. PDT.

 

Solomon King Solomon rules Egypt with wisdom and respect, until his unrequited love for the Queen of Sheba plunges him into despair and his realm begins to collapse. (1997) Stars: Ben Cross, Anouk Aimée, Vivica A. Fox, Max von Sydow.  Tuesday, April 8, 8 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. PDT.

 

*The Story of David A biography of the second king of Israel follows David from his days as a humble shepherd to his death as king, recounting his accomplishments, his struggles, and his sins. (1976) Stars: Timothy Bottoms, Anthony Quayle, Jane Seymour. Wednesday, April 9, 8 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. PDT.

 

*Barabbas Oscar® winner Anthony Quinn plays Barabbas, the criminal set free so that Christ could be crucified, who is haunted by the image of Jesus for the rest of his life. (1961) Also starring Silvana Mangano and Arthur Kennedy.  Thursday, April 10, 8 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. PDT.

 

Jeremiah A prophet abandons his loved ones in order to relay God’s message of the destruction of the Holy City by the Babylonians. (1998) Stars Patrick Dempsey, Oliver Reed, Leonor Varela. Thursday, April 10, 11 p.m. EDT/ 8 p.m. PDT.

 

The Ten Commandments The story of Moses, who, against impossible odds, leads the Jews out of Egyptian slavery into perilous freedom. (2006) Stars: Dougray Scott, Paul Rhys, Omar Sharif, Naveen Andrews. Friday, April 11, 8 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. PDT.

 

*The Story of Ruth . (1960) Stars: Stuart Whitman, Tom Tryon, Peggy Wood. Friday, April 11, 12 a.m. EDT/9 p.m. PDT.

 

The Book Of Ruth: Journey of Faith (2009) Stars: Lana Wood, Dan Haggerty and Sherry Morris. Saturday, April 12, 8:30 a.m. EDT/5:30 a.m. PDT.

 

Esther (1999) Stars: Louise Lombard, F. Murray Abraham, Jürgen Prochnow, Thomas Kretschmann.  Saturday, April 12, 10:30 a.m. EDT/7:30 a.m. PDT.

 

*The Book of Esther (2013) Stars: Jen Lilley, Linda Bisesti. Saturday, April 12, 7 p.m. EDT/4 p.m. PDT.

 

*Esther and the King (1960) Also starring: Richard Egan, Sergio Fantoni. Saturday, April 12, 1 a.m. EDT/10 p.m. PDT.

 

The Greatest Story Ever Told . (1965) Stars: Max Von Sydow, Dorothy McGuire, Robert Loggia, Charlton Heston, Robert Blake, Roddy McDowall, Sidney Poitier, Pat Boone, Shelley Winters, John Wayne, Telly Savalas, Angela Lansbury, Martin Landau, Jose Ferrer. Palm Sunday, April 13, 4:30 p.m. EDT/1:30 p.m. PDT.

 

*The Passion of the Christ (Commercial Television Premiere with Limited Commercial Interruptions) – (2004) Stars: Jim Caviezel, Maia Morgenstern and Monica Bellucci. Palm Sunday, April 13, 9 p.m. EDT/6 p.m. PDT.

 

Mary, Mother of Jesus (1999) The film stars Christian Bale, Pernilla August, Melinda Kinnaman and Geraldine Chaplin. Thursday, April 17, 8 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. PDT.

 

The Story of Jacob and Joseph (1974) Stars: Keith Michell, Tony Lo Bianco and Colleen Dewhurst.  Good Friday, April 18, 8:30 a.m. EDT/5:30 a.m. PDT.

 

*Judas (2004) Stars: Johnathon Schaech, Jonathan Scarfe, Tim Matheson and Bob Gunton.  Monday, April 14, 8 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. PDT.

 

*King of Kings (1961) Stars: Jeffrey Hunter, Siobhán McKenna and Rip Torn. Tuesday, April 15, 8 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. PDT.

 

Jesus (1999) Stars: Jeremy Sisto, Debra Messing, Gary Oldman, Jacqueline Bisset, G.W. Bailey. Good Friday, April 18, 8 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. PDT.

 

*The Robe (1953) Stars: Richard Burton, Jean Simmons and Victor Mature. Saturday, April 19, 8 p.m. EDT/5 p.m. PDT.

 

*Demetrius and the Gladiators sequel to the masterful The Robe. (1954) Stars: Victor Mature, Susan Hayward, Anne Bancroft and Ernest Borgnine. Saturday, April 19, 11 p.m. EDT/8 p.m. PDT.

 

*Apostle Peter and the Last Supper (2012) Stars: Robert Loggia, Bruce Marchiano and Laurence Fuller. Sunday, April 20, 8 a.m. EDT/8 5.m. PDT.

 

 

UP, America’s favorite network for uplifting entertainment, is a 24-hour television network that provides high-quality, diverse, family-friendly programming, including original and premiere movies, theatricals, drama and comedy series, music and holiday specials. UP can be seen in 67 million homes in high definition (HD) and standard definition (SD) on cable systems including Comcast, Time Warner Cable, Bright House Networks, Charter and Cox Communications as well as DIRECTV (Channel 338), DISH Network (Channel 188) and Verizon FIOS (Channel 224). Follow UP on the Web at www.UPtv.com, on Facebook at www.facebook.com/UPtv, Twitter on @UPtv and Instagram at UP_TV.

          

 

Visit www.UPtv.com/pressroom for photos, screeners and additional materials.

 

Views: 77

Comment

You need to be a member of Regional Council of Churches of Atlanta to add comments!

Join Regional Council of Churches of Atlanta

Advent Retreats

Ignatius House is offering Advent Days of Reflection and two-night Advent Retreats this season.

Days, Tuesday, December 3, Register here or Thursday, December 12, Register here.

Two-day retreats December 6-8, Register here or December 20-22, Register here.

Harvest of Hope


Intergenerational Apple Harvest of Hope ecumenical study, worship, and mission retreat program of the Society of St. Andrew.Find out more here.

email ecarter@rccatl.org

2715 Peachtree Road NE

Atlanta, GA 30305

Our Work 

Our History 

Officers & Staff  

Our Mission

Directions & Map to Our Offices

Find It Here

Community Calendar -- Events of interest to the greater faith community.
Membership -- Links to all RCCA member churches in Atlanta.
Volunteer Opportunities -- Dozens of possibilities to be of service.
Local Denominational Judicatories  -- Websites and contact information.

© 2019   Created by RCCAtl.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service